Under the Radar Vol. 1

Posted on March 10, 2012

0


I am introducing a new topic that I will add on to every week. The purpose of it is pretty self explanatory. I will be covering “Under the Radar” things in the Association. That includes players, coaches, offensive/defensive schemes, staff personnel, sports blogs and basically anything that just doesn’t get enough attention.

So in my first edition of “Under the Radar,” I would like to highlight Small Forward Paul George (@King24George) from the Indiana Pacers.

Do you know who I am?

George is in his second year in the league out of Fresno State. He is ONLY 21 years old and miraculously grew 2″ inches in the summer from 6’8 to 6’10. The Indiana Pacers are 23-14 and he is the third leading scorer on a team with Danny Granger and Roy Hibbert. He made the most recent splash in the dunk contest with this dunk.

That’s a LEGIT 7’2 center ladies and gentleman.

Now imagine a 6’10 Guard/Forward with those kind of hops and the ability to shoot the three-ball at an almost 40% clip. Paul George’s numbers so far this year have been 12.3 PPG, 5.5 RPG and 1.4 steals to go along with 39.6% from the 3pt. He makes on average 1.6 out of 4 threes a game. That is a lot of attempts and an impressive statistic.

What has impressed me about Paul is that his scoring output has gone up every month this year and I expect to see that growth continue through the playoffs. I legitimately believe that in the second half of the season he can average close to 15 PPG with increases in statistics all across the board. Indiana is trusting the ball in his hands more and I believe that he can be a match-up nightmare heading in to the playoffs. So when you are watching the Miami Heat vs Indiana Pacers or following along on Xfinity Sports today, watch out for #24 and you might be watching the next star in the making.

mE – Sunny Saini

Go check out the Box Scores, Articles and Highlights.

